CCE Interim Dean Receives Prestigious Award
American Society for Public Administration Honors Dr. Jenni Murphy


Update: Two weeks after being honored by the American Society for Public Administration – Sacramento Chapter, Dr. Jenni Murphy was appointed the new dean of the College of Continuing Education. She will take the helm on June 1.

The American Society for Public Administration (ASPA) Sacramento Chapter honored College of Continuing Education (CCE) Interim Dean Dr. Jenni Murphy at its 36th Annual Awards Dinner on May 9, presenting her with the prestigious 2018 Chester A. Newland Academic Excellence Award for her  contributions and leadership in the education of public administrators.

Dr. Murphy joined CCE in 2001 and has been a leader in educating public administrators in California. She has created curriculum and innovative training programs, serving offices and departments in all 58 counties and more than 100 state agencies and departments.

Her work has resulted in succession planning for state government as well as leadership academies, including The Portfolio series for state executives, managers and supervisors and the Workforce Development Professional Apprenticeship Program, the latter received the 2017 Engagement Award from the University Professional and Continuing Education Association, West Region.

Dr. Murphy is a faculty member at Sacramento State and has taught in the Doctorate in Educational Leadership program. She has presented at state and national conferences on workforce development, with her academic research focusing on degree completion for working age adults.

Her research will come to life on May 23 at the inaugural Summit on Educational Attainment for Working Age Adults, being held at Sac State Downtown, the University’s new hub at 304 S Street. Dr. Murphy has joined with the organization Align Capital Region in launching the summit, with the goal of coordinating a regional solution when it comes to educational opportunities for working age adults. 

ASPA is committed to advancing excellence in public service. Since 1982, the Sacramento Chapter has recognized outstanding local public administrators, professors and students.