Faculty Spotlight: Ana Garcia-Nevarez
Faculty Coordinator, Child Development Program


A conversation with Dr. Ana Garcia-Nevarez, Undergraduate Studies in Education Chair and Child Development Program Faculty Coordinator:

What is your educational background?

I received a bachelor’s degree in psychology and child development from California State University, Northridge. I was a Regents’ Graduate Academic Scholar from Arizona State University where I received master’s and doctoral degrees. My Ph.D. is in curriculum and instruction, with an emphasis in elementary education and bilingual education.

What brought you to Sac State?

What brought me to Sac State was the opportunity to work and teach in the Child Development Department.

What has been your favorite part of your job?

There are multiple things that I enjoy about being a professor and now a department chair.

From teaching: I enjoy observing the process of learning that takes place in the classroom, interacting with students and guiding them into thinking critically and helping them analyze concepts and theories.

From being a department chair: I think that the most defining element for me, which attracted me to become chair, was the idea of being able to find some type of bridge between working with students and guiding them to become successful, educated individuals. I like to be challenged, and the chair position has allowed me to be confronted with the intellectual challenges that we deal with on a daily basis.

What led you to the field of child development?

I come from a family of educators. Since I was a little girl I knew that I wanted to work with children and families. Working with children provides me with the opportunity to shape lives and ensure the future of our children and community.

If you hadn’t followed this career path, what do you think you’d be doing?

I think I would have been a preschool/ elementary school teacher or school psychologist.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I like to spend time with my family. My two children (Gabriela, 10 years old and Carlos, 7 years old), my husband and I like to go to the movies, bike ride, and be outdoors.

If you were to share one piece of advice for prospective or current students, what would it be?

Get an education, do what you want to do in life, and enjoy every moment with your family.